Connor Baxter, Andrea Moller Win Maui Paddle Championships

Connor Baxter and Andrea Moller continue their victorious seasons, with their most recent wins right at home at Saturday’s 8th annual Maui Paddle Championships. The champs and nearly 200 competitors powered through the world class Maliko downwind run that took paddlers from Maliko Gulch to Kahului Harbor.

The annual race had a tough field of competitors that included some of the top racers in the world, as elite paddlers from around the globe camp out on Maui to prepare for next week’s Molokai 2 Oahu World Championships. The competition wasn’t the only difficulty racers faced, as winds were minimal at the race start, but improved along the course. In the end, champion racer Connor Baxter took the overall win ahead of downwind expert Jeremy Riggs, Livio Menelau, Tamarua Cowan and David Kissane. Andrea Moller took the win for the ladies, finishing ahead of strong paddlers Devin Blish, Terrene Black and Sonja Honscheid. Travis Baptiste and Kody Kerbox had impressive finishes as well, placing in eight and ninth places overall while racing on 12’6 and 14′ boards amongst a field heavy with unlimited SUPs. —SC

Photos courtesy of Jimmie Hepp Photography

For more information, visit the Maui Paddling Facebook page.
Click here for more photos.