Video courtesy of @supworldcupscharbeutz / @paddleleague

The 2018 Mercedes-Benz SUP World Cup came to Scharbeutz, Germany for the seventh stop of The Paddle League World Tour and week nine of the EuroTour. Paddlers from 26 nations were met with perfect weather and large crowds for one of Europe’s top SUP events of the year.

In the Men’s Elite race, the field was stacked with incredible talent. Despite the pack of fast paddlers, Michael Booth and Lincoln Dews opened up a gap almost immediately and it soon became clear it had turned into a two-horse race.

The two would battle for over an hour, neither paddler giving an inch. While many expected Booth to prevail as he has done many times this season, Dews eventually broke free in the small bumps on lap five before grinding out a tense final loop to claim his first major title.

The Aussie boys were complimentary of other, with Lincoln saying “It was an honor to race against Boothy, he’s been the man to beat the past 12 months,” and Boothy humbly adding that “Lincoln paddled fantastic and was the best man on the day; I did everything I could but he just kept pulling away.”

The Women’s Elite race was also a thriller. While a victory for Sonni Honscheid would have clinched the inaugural Paddle League World Title in her home waters, Olivia Piana proved she wasn’t ready to concede the title just yet.

While Sonni looked set to claim victory after opening an early lead, with Seychelle just a couple of board lengths behind on the opening two laps. But then Olivia found her rhythm and charged up alongside Sonni on lap three, before pulling clear in the second half of the battle to take the win.

Check out the highlights above from an action-packed weekend of paddling in Germany.


1st: Olivia Piana (1:01:07) Team: France/425
2nd: Sonni Honscheid (1:02:28) Team: Germany/Starboard
3rd: Seychelle (1:03:20) Team: USA/SIC
4th: Fiona Wylde (1:03:33) Team: USA/Starboard
5th: Angie Jackson (1:04:58) Team: Australia/ONE
6th: Yuka Sato (1:05:37) Team: Japan/Starboard
7th: Kate Baker (1:05:44) Team: UK/ONE
8th: Annie Reickert (1:08:08) Team: Hawaii/Naish
9th: Lena Ribeiro (1:09:58) Team: Brazil/SIC
10th: Noelani Sach (1:10:04) Team: Germany/NSP


1st: Lincoln Dews (0:52:24) Team: Australia/DEEP
2nd: Michael Booth (0:52:55) Team: Australia/Starboard
3rd: Arthur Arutkin (0:53:37) Team: France/Fanatic
4th: Connor Baxter (0:54:17) Team: Hawaii/Starboard
5th: Marcus Hansen (0:54:40) Team: New Zealand/NSP
6th: Bruno Hasulyo (0:54:54) Team: Hungary/Starboard
7th: Martin Vitry (0:55:15) Team: France/SIC
8th: Georges Cronsteadt (0:55:16) Team: Tahiti/425
9th: Noic Garioud (0:55:19) Team: New Caledonia/Sunova
10th: Josh Riccio 0:55:39) Team: USA/F-ONE